Assembly is a compelling & timely exhibition curated to reflect a new geography of contemporary art practice as artists shift their focus away from the capital. Members of the artist-led group Contemporary British Painting come together from across the UK & Ireland with invited artists from Rye & the surrounding counties. Rye is uniquely situated at the mid-point of the creative artery that extends along the South Coast from Brighton to Margate linking important public art institutions, independent, & artist-led venues. Assembly creates a platform for engagement & dialogue with an exciting range of artists whose energy, & significant & diverse histories of making, animate this exhibition.

Exhibition dates: 3 -18 May 2024
The Old Gym, Rye Creative Centre, New Rd, Rye TN31 7LS
Preview: Friday 3rd May, 6 pm – 8pm – all welcome
Artist talks: Saturday 4th and 18th May, 3pm – 5pm
Exhibition continues: Thursday – Sunday 10am-5pm and by appointment

Online sales gallery

Susan Absolon, David Ainley, Hermione Allsopp, Iain Andrews, Amanda Ansell, Tom Banks, Karl Bielik, Claudia Böse, Day Bowman, Marius von Brasch, Julian Brown, Lesley Bunch, Matthew Burrows, Ruth Calland, Simon Carter, Jules Clarke, Susan Collis, Deb Covell, Lucy Cox, Gordon Dalton, Pen Dalton, Angelina Davis, Jeff Dellow, Lisa Denyer, Natalie Dowse, Rowena Easton, Nathan Eastwood, Geraint Evans, Rosalind Faram, The Baron Gilvan, Luke Gottelier, Susan Gunn, Susie Hamilton, Alex Hanna, Marcus Harvey, Jeb Haward, Vincent Hawkins, Roland Hicks, Suzanne Holtom, Marguerite Horner, Dan Howard-Birt, Barbara Howey, Phil Illingworth, Linda Ingham, Rich Jellyman, Patrick Adam Jones, Peter Jones, Ansel Krut, Bryan Lavelle, Andrew Litten, David Lock, Juliette Losq, Paula MacArthur, David Manley, Enzo Marra, Gavin Maughfling, Donna Mclean, Monica Metsers, Nicholas Middleton, Ruth Murray, Paul Newman, Sikelela Owen, Nicholas Pace, Kim L Pace, Joe Packer, Eugene Palmer, Stephen Palmer, Aimée Parrott, Mandy Payne, Barbara Peirson, Ruth Philo, Alison Pilkington, Danny Pockets, Narbi Price, Freya Purdue, Alessandro Raho, Richard Mark Rawlins Tobit Roche, Greg Rook, Katherine Russell, Boo Saville, Maggie Scott, Claire Shoosmith, Stephen Snoddy, David Sullivan, Geraldine Swayne, Harvey Taylor, Sally Taylor, Molly Thomson, Ehryn Torrell, Casper White, Joanna Whittle, Sean Williams, Sharon Wylde, Caroline Yates.