“The work of a painter is a solitary procedure. It is a privilege to have been allowed this insight into the work and compulsions of so many dedicated artists practicing over the breadth of the country.”

Susan Gunn, joint CBP panel selector for the 2023 prize

Contemporary British Painting Prize 2023

Artist Rich Jellyman was the prizewinner of the 2023 CBP Prize, receiving £8000, an essay written about his painting practice by Beth Hughes (independent Curator and Researcher), membership to Contemporary British Painting and to be one of the selectors for the 2024 CBP Prize.

Robbie Bushe was awarded the ‘Highly Commended’ prize.

Installation view at Thames-Side Studios Gallery ©BJ Deakin Photography

Purchase the catalogue that includes all 16 shortlisted artists and the essay by Beth Hughes.

The 16 finalists are: Karolina Albricht, Robbie Bushe, Benjamin Deakin, Marcus Jefferies, Rich Jellyman, Lee Johnson, Allyson Keehan, Lee Maelzer, Melanie Miller, David Orme, Rosey Prince, Ellen Ranson, Claude Temin-Vergez, Emma Tod, Twinkle Troughton, and Suzy Willey.

The winner was announced on Saturday 23 September 2023 at Huddersfield Art Gallery. The exhibition then toured to Thames-Side Studios Gallery, London.

The prize judges for 2023 were: Beth Hughes (independent Curator and Researcher), Caroline Walker (artist) and Grant Scanlan (Curator at Huddersfield Art Gallery).

The 16 finalists were selected from over 1000 artists by a panel of four members of CBP: Lesley Bunch (the winner of the 2022 prize), Gordon Dalton, Susan Gunn and Mandy Payne.

Huddersfield Art Gallery, Princess Alexandra Walk, Huddersfield HD1 2SU
16 September – 11 November 2023

Thames-Side Studios Gallery, Thames-Side Studios, Harrington Way, Warspite Road, Royal Borough of Greenwich, London SE18 5NR
1 – 17 December 2023

We would like to thank our judges and selectors, Huddersfield Art Gallery and Thames-Side Studios, and John Talbot, collector of contemporary painting, for his generous donation that has enabled us to increase the value of the prizes.