Painting Prize 2019


CBP Prize 2019 poster


We are pleased to announce that Joanna Whittle was the prizewinner of the 2019 CBP Prize, receiving £2000, an essay to be written on her painting practice by Griselda Pollock, an invitation to join Contemporary British Painting and to be one of the selectors for the next CBP Prize.

Adam Hennessey was awarded ‘Highly Commended’, congratulations to both painters and all the other exhibitors.

Download the catalogue.


Back row L-R: Juliette Losq, Grant Scanlan. Maddie Yuille, Adam Hennessey, Joanna Whittle, Griselda Pollock, Graham Crowley, Scott McCracken, Diana Taylor, Jo McGonigal, Lisa Denyer, Geraint Evans
Front row L-R: Ruth Murray, Louise Bristow, Stephanie Douet, Kirsty Harris, Paula MacArthur, Helen Hayward, Joe Packer, Judith Tucker. Paintings in the background by Kirsty Harris, photo by Narbi Price.


The 12 shortlisted finalists for the painting prize Contemporary British Painting Prize 2019 are:
Louise Bristow, Stephanie Douet, Kirsty Harris, Helen Hayward, Adam Hennessey, 
Juliette Losq, Scott McCracken, Jo McGonigal, Ruth Murray, Diana Taylor, 
Joanna Whittle and 
Maddie Yuille.



The twelve shortlisted artists were selected by four painters: Lisa Denyer, Geraint Evans, Joe Packer (winner of the Contemporary British Painting Prize 2018) and Judith Tucker. Three paintings by each of the artists will be exhibited at:

Huddersfield Art Gallery, Princess Alexandra Walk, Huddersfield HD1 2SU
from 9th November 2019 – 4th January 2020, Tuesday to Saturday 11am – 4pm (admission free)

We are also pleased to announce that the exhibition will be shown in London in February 2020.

The prizewinning artist was chosen by our three judges, Graham Crowley, Griselda Pollock and Grant Scanlan and was announced on Saturday 9 November.

‘Walk & talk’ event led by Judith Tucker on Saturday 7 December 2pm – 4pm.

We are also pleased to announce that the exhibition will tour to London early next year to: ASC Gallery, The Chaplin Centre, Taplow House, Thurlow Street, London SE17 2DG
Exhibition dates: 7 February – 6 March 2020 
12 painters, 12 paintings

We would also like to congratulation the 55 painters who were selected from a total of 746 applicants who made it through to the longlist. The longlisted artists were:

Louise Bristow, Clare Chapman, Brian Cheeswright, Deb Covell, Stephanie Douet, Rosalind Faram, Brendan Fletcher, Rebecca Fortnum, Adam Green, Lesley Halliwell, Kirsty Harris, Jeb Haward, Helen Hayward, Steven Heaton, Linda Hemmersbach, Adam Hennessey, Anna-Lise Horsley, Seungjo Jeong, Jessica Kirkpatrick, Jin Han Lee, Juliette Losq, Robyn Litchfield, Angela Lizon, Katherine Lubar, Hannah Luxton, Brendan Lyons, Selma Makela, Sophie Marritt, Gavin Maughfling, Scott McCracken, Jo McGonigal, Wendy McLean, Steve Moberly, Donal Moloney, Jim Mooney, Hannah Murgatroyd, Ruth Murray, Iain Nicholls, Roy Osborne, Greg Palmer, Sarah Poots, Magnus Quaife, Andrew Robinson, Sarah Sparkes, Geraldine Swayne, Diana Taylor, Sarah Taylor, Clare Thatcher, Anna Turner, Alex Veness, Claude Vergez, David Webb, Joanna Whittle, Maddie Yuille, Kecheng Zhu.

We would like to thank every artist who entered this year’s prize.

If unfortunately your work was not selected this year, please do not be discouraged, the judges deliberated at length and commented that they could have selected several different exhibitions from the wealth of submissions. Our social media team will be posting a selection of works chosen from all submissions as Painting of the Day across our Instagram, Twitter and Facebook pages, so watch this space!

We regret that we are unable to provide individual feedback.