Painting Prize 2018


Contemporary British Painting Prize 2018

Joe Packer was announced as prizewinner receiving £2000, an essay on his painting practice written by Matthew Collings, an invitation to join Contemporary British Painting and to be one of the selectors for the CBP Prize 2019. You can read the essay here.

Keith Ashcroft was awarded ‘Highly Commended’ and received a bottle of champagne.

The twelve shortlisted artists for the exhibition were:
Keith Ashcroft, Lucy Austin, Benjamin Deakin, Kate Dunn, Jenny Eden, Andrew Ekins, Pippa Gatty, Alison Goodyear, Roland Hicks, Rachel Lancaster, Joe Packer and Jonathan West.

All twelve painters exhibited three paintings each at Contemporary British Painting Prize 2018 exhibition which took place at Huddersfield Art Gallery from 1 December 2018 – 2 February 2019, then toured to the Menier Gallery, London, 7 February – 16 February 2019.

The winning painting was announced on the afternoon of Saturday 1 December 2018 at Huddersfield Art Gallery. 

The prize judges for 2018 were: Matthew Collings (painter, critic and broadcaster), Amisha Karia (Head of Collection, Paintings in Hospitals) and Grant Scanlan (Huddersfield Museums Manager).

The winning artist will received a £2,000 cash prize; a critical essay on their practice by Matthew Collings (launched at the Menier Gallery), and an invitation to become a member of Contemporary British Painting. All twelve shortlisted artists will receive a £100 exhibitor’s fee.

The twelve shortlisted artists were selected by a group of practising painters: Simon Carter, Paula MacArthur, Ruth Philo and Narbi Price (winner of the Contemporary British Painting Prize 2017).

Huddersfield Art Gallery, Princess Alexandra Walk, Huddersfield HD1 2SU

Private view: Saturday 1 December 2018, 2pm – 4pm
Exhibition dates: 1 December 2018 – 2 February 2019
Opening times: 11am – 4pm (closed Sunday and Monday)
Admission free

You can download the press release here.

See the CBP Painting Prize archive:
CBP Painting Prize 2017
CBP Painting Prize 2016