Painting Prize 2017

“A great example of artists taking matters into their own hands…”
Nicholas Usherwood, Art Critic and Curator
We are delighted to announce that

and the winning painting is ‘Untitled Yard Painting (Albert)’ whilst Judges ‘Special Commendation’ was made to Louise Giovanelli.

The 12 shortlisted artists for
The Contemporary British Painting Prize 2017 are:
Michael Ajerman
Jake Clark
Jadé Fadojutimi
Louise Giovanelli
Juliette Losq
Cara Nahaul
Simon Parish
Narbi Price
Alli Sharma
Joan Sugrue
Molly Thomson
Helen Turner

The Contemporary British Painting Prize: Group Show 2017

Featuring 3 paintings by each of the 12 finalists at:
The Stables Gallery, Orleans House, London
Friday 25 August – Sunday 22 October 2017
The Winning Artist will receive:
*A solo exhibition at The Herrick Gallery, London
*A critical essay on their practice by art critic and curator Nicholas Usherwood
*A £2,000 purchase prize of their winning work which will then enter
The Priseman Seabrook Collection of 21st Century British Painting .
For the “Contemporary British Painting Prize 2017” we received 680 entries, with each demonstrating the sheer strength, vitality and creative energy which is taking place in the field of painting today. From these entries a clear commitment to the full range of painting – representational, photographic, abstract (geometric and gestural), and conceptual approaches – was shown. This shortlist aims to present the best in contemporary painting, and the diversity of current practice.

On a personal note I wish to sincerely thank our artist selectors for choosing such an exciting shortlist with so much care and to our judges for lending a serious critical eye over the show. I also wish to thank Mark De Novellis and Orleans House Gallery for hosting us and Ruth and Wendy for excellent work promoting the prize. Most of all though, I wish to thank each and every painter who has submitted their work to this year’s prize, for without all the artist’s participation this luminous show would not be possible.
Robert Priseman

The Prize Winner selection panel judges for 2017 are:
Elena Dranichnikova Founder of the Moscow Art Collectors Group (MACS).
Alice Herrick Artist, curator and owner of the Herrick Gallery, London.
Jessica Litherland Visual Arts Producer, mac Birmingham.
Stephen Snoddy Director, New Art Gallery, Walsall.
Nicholas Usherwood Curator, Art Critic and Writer on Contemporary Art.
The 2017 Group Show selectors were:
Julian Brown, Matthew Krishanu, Nicholas Middleton and Cathy Lomax.
Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

About The Prize

The Contemporary British Painting Prize: Group Show 2017. A panel of critics and curators will select a prize winning painting from the 36 exhibited works produced by the 12 exhibiting finalists, with the winning painting being announced on the afternoon of the Private View, on Saturday 26th August between 12 noon – 2.00pm. The producer of the winning painting will receive a £2,000 purchase prize of their winning work which will then enter The Priseman Seabrook Collection of 21st Century British Painting, a solo show at the Herrick Gallery and a critical essay on their practice by Nicholas Usherwood