welcome to contemporary british painting…

Established in 2013 by Robert Priseman in partnership with Simon Carter, Contemporary British Painting seeks to explore and promote current trends in British painting through group exhibitions, talks, publications, an art prize and the donation of paintings to art museums.

We are currently working with Westminster Art Library on a series of monthly reading groups held on the first Thursday of each month, a new three museum annual prize just for painters and a programme of intimate group shows which explore ideas around the relevance of painting in the digital age at the crypt, St. Marylebone (just a 4 min walk from Baker St. tube). St. Marylebone is where Lord Byron was baptised, as well as being the burial place for George Stubbs and Allan Ramsey, setting for one of Hogarth’s ‘Rakes Progress’ paintings and on permanent display is a painting by former President of the Royal Academy Benjamin West (1738-1820).

Our members represent some of the most exciting emerging and award winning painting in the UK today and include European Sovereign Painters Prize winner Susan Gunn, Pollock-Krasner awardee Kelly Jayne, East London Painting Prize winner Nathan Eastwood, John Moores Prize winner Nicholas Middleton, British Academy awardee James Quin, Birtle Prize winner Simon Burton, Venice Biennale exhibitors Marguerite Horner and Phil Illingworth and Griffin Prize exhibitor Matthew Krishanu.

Follow us on Twitter and Facebook

Chair of the Advisory Group

Wendy Saunders

Advisory Group

David Ainley
Simon Burton
Simon Carter
Susan Gunn
Matthew Krishanu
Paula MacArthur
Freya Purdue
Judy Tucker

Honorary Chair of the External Advisory Group

Michael Peppiatt

External Advisory Group

John Bernasconi
Katherine April Caddy
Marco Cali
Tony Casement
Sophie Cummings
Jeff Dennis
The Revd. Canon Stephen Evans
Professor Rebecca Fortnum
Ruth Gamble
Amanda Geitner
Robert Hall
Susie Hamilton
Andrew Lambirth
Jessica Litherland
Paul O’Kane
Ruth Robinson
Ally Seabrook
Stephen Snoddy
Dr Lisa Wade
Helen Watson
John Wallett
Jessica Wood
Anthony Wooding


John Wallett